A Dollar Saved Is A Dollar I Didn’t Have To Work For

It’s never been a secret of mine to reveal to the masses that I detest working for a living. I hated it when I took my first job for Merrill Lynch down on Wall Street when I was a seventeen year old senior in high school. And I hated it when I breathed my last day on a part-time job when I was fifty-five and working for yet another attorney. UGH. I couldn’t drive home fast enough.

Over the years I discovered if I handled whatever money I earned frugally, I didn’t have to work so hard OR for so long. I made up my own ‘Art Of The Deal‘.  Buy low and spend low and sock as much money away in a bank account as possible. Stay out of debt as much as possible and live below your means as small as you can. Never pay retail. Never buy new if you don’t have to. And only buy what you need NOT what you want. Figure out the barest of necessities and then, still go lower.

Never stop learning to be frugal. Never stop learning how to save money. Learn from other like-minded people. You don’t know everything. Times are always changing. Change with the times and learn all the tricks of the trade. I betcha there’s an app for that! When you make a new frugal discovery, share it with everybody. The universe will share right back at you!

I enjoy saving money, living as frugally as possible. It’s a joy and a pleasure to live this way. Learn the true value of things, the true price of labor and other pleasures in life. Pay the reality price not the exorbitant price. But always, always enjoy your life! That’s the secret to living an authentic frugal life. If taking a cruise in Alaska is on your wish list, you have the money and the resources to make it happen. Make it happen BUT on your terms. NOT theirs. You can have and you can do and you can go anywhere on this earth that you want to. Just make sure it’s priced right!

Live well and prosper, my friends. Live well and prosper.

8 thoughts on “A Dollar Saved Is A Dollar I Didn’t Have To Work For

    • One Family, thank you so much for thinking of me. You’re so sweet! Happily, I live near a local National Park and a few weeks ago popped in and bought my $10 pass with no lines and no waiting and no fanfare. In fact, I got my pass before I got my RV. LOL! I like to be prepared.
      My sister got her pass around the same time I did and has already gone on her cross country road trip. She said she saved a lot of money hoping from one park to another (some parks charged $20 per person!)
      Thanks again for the heads up. I really appreciate it.

      Like

  1. Yep. You are right on all counts (except I enjoy working in my law firm most of the time….) After having the tumor scare two years ago, I vowed that I wouldn’t waste another moment of time if I wanted to do things. Cruising has been one of those things…so glad I’m young enough to be active, be able to pay cash and still be on this earth to enjoy it all. We are on the 6 year plan right now for retirement. So far so good. We are preparing for an inevitable stock market downturn as well, so fingers crossed we will be able to meet our goals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Cindi, I don’t call it frugalality, I call it common sense life designing and total freedom from family, friends, the Jones, advertisers, and pier pressure.
    How did so many others including our adult children decide they know where and how we should spend the money that are life energy and frugality created? Budgeting, Learning the skill of stretching a dollar farther to cover basic necessities and saving the rest to compound and create its own stream of income should be a four year course in high school, Financial Survival 101, 102, 103, 104. It would have really helped the Baby Boomers if we had it or a blog world with contributors such as Madfientist, Mr Money Mustache, Go Curry Crackers to blaze our paths.
    Have you read any articles recently about the trillions of dollars the Boomers were supposed to inherit that has evaporated with the rising cost of health care, funeral cost, credit card debt, and daily living cost? Let me know if you find one!
    Sincerely, Lara

    Like

    • Lara, look no further than me. I’m a Baby Boomer who inherited money three times so far in my lifetime. My parents and grandparents made it through the Great Depression and taught me well. It’s my fiduciary responsibility to them to use the money they left me wisely. When I got my first inheritance, my then-husband went out and bought HIMSELF a Mercedes. I served him with immediate divorce papers. Frugality and great survival skills have sustained me very well. My family’s hard work will never be wasted on me. On the other hand, I had to disinherit my own children as they were drooling to get their own hands on MY money. They used to ask me if they could look over my jewelry. Nice.
      I’ll be damned if I live to be an old woman whose kids wish for my early demise just so they can get their grubby hands on my money. NOT a nice position to be in. Trust me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

