Why I Joined Weight Watchers

I don’t pay for anything. So, for me to join Weight Watchers and sign up to pay $19.95 a month, is a very big deal for me. I didn’t do it so much for the weight loss (despite the fact that I really do need to lose weight) I did it for my health. After my little heart attack thing, I need to get my health under control and I need to get my life back on a healthy track.

This article from Business Insider (click here) was the closer for me. This one paragraph said it all especially for me:

Studies have found that Weight Watchers members also tend to lower their heart disease risk and blood pressure, as exercising and losing weight in general have also been shown to do. An interesting analysis (by a researcher who has been a paid consultant for Weight Watchers) found that participants on the plan for a year typically paid $70 per pound lost, but gained $54,130 in quality of life improvement.

I joined the Online Program since there are no Weight Watcher meetings within 25 miles of where I live. I’m an ‘online-kind-of-gal’ anyway since I live mostly inside my Apple Computer. (figures my computer would be named after a food!) Once you answer a series of questions about your life, activity level, age, weight, height, etc. Weight Watchers designs a food point system and a fitness point system for you. Because I am over 65, I get NO points for my age!

You have to track your food intake per day, which is easy for me since I track my money outgo every day. I’m used to tracking stuff daily. I also have to track my activity level. WW (Weight Watchers) recommends I do 47 minutes of activity per day. I easily accomplish this by doing my daily housework (yes! that has value) of 30 minutes to an hour a day and I walk my dog each and every day (at least 45 minutes).

WW has a great food tracker app which can be downloaded onto your smart phone. Every food item has a set point value. It didn’t take me long to figure out that a tablespoon of butter in my daily oatmeal had a high point value BUT if I cut that pat of butter down, my points adjusted downwards too. I can still have butter with my morning oatmeal BUT a bit less. That’s all. On WW you get to eat all your favorite foods BUT the point system forces you to think and thus make better healthier choices.

oprah weight watchersThen there is Oprah. After her own years of yo-yo dieting, Oprah found herself successfully losing weight on the Weight Watcher program. After losing 42 painless pounds herself, Oprah bought out most of Weight Watchers stock and rejuvenated the company. Oprah is there for all of us daily, giving us words of encouragement and wisdom. Oprah brings on guests who share their success stories openly and honestly.

I’m part of a new community and so far, I’m loving it. I lost a few pounds my first week (WW recommends losing no more than 1 to 2 pounds weekly) and my dog is a lot happier getting all those walks! LOL!

It’s a very good thing.

4 thoughts on “Why I Joined Weight Watchers

  1. Happy to see you back! I joined WW last Thursday and have lost a total of 4 lbs. Very happy with the results as I am faithfully sticking to the point system. I was also walking daily ( I live in Miami) just before sundown and doing great but I had what I thought might be a “heart episode” this weekend and haven’t walked again yet (no diagnosis but it scared me, I had a tingling in my left arm but nothing else happened). I will likely get back to it this week. I have about 50 lbs to lose and will turn 60 in 2 weeks so I need to get crackin’ ! Congratulations to you on what you are trying to do. Hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Terri.
      Geeze, take care of your heart. have you gone to a cardiologist? Or your family doctor?
      Let’s stay in touch and help each other along our weight loss journey, shall we?
      4 pounds is fantastic!
      Thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

