I’ve Stopped Listening To The News

Apparently, I’m not the only person who has turned off the news lately. I’ve never seen a more hostile media to our current events in all of my living days than what is transpiring right now. I am truly convinced that this world we are living in has gone mad.

So, what can I do? First is to just turn off the news. I may sneak in some local news and weather reports but other than that, as soon as the newscasters touch on world or political news, the channel either gets changed or the TV is shut off completely! Thankfully, we only have basic cable so I don’t have to contend with all the cable news channels. I have some solace in knowing I’m saving money while eliminating all that nonsense.

I’ve been reading other baby boomer blogs whose writers have come to the same conclusion as me: turn off the news and enjoy your life. There’s nothing we can do about world events or political outcomes. We can join all the resistant movements we want but nothing is going to change. Our world is very dishonest right now. I have determined there is no one I can trust or confide in anymore. It’s all a crap shoot, so just try to make the best of it.

As a retiree, I know that nothing is going to happen to Social Security or Medicare for right now. If anything is to be done it is the disarming of the medical fraud and abuse that is currently taking place. As to my personal funding and medical care, everything will remain as it is today. For the time being.

Some retirees are immersing themselves into gardening or traveling. I’m fixing up my home environment and making it the best it can be. I’m attempting (and succeeding) into making my home more peaceful and amiable to the eye. I’ve overextended myself a bit on the financial side but at this point in my life, I can ease up on the frugality reigns. Creating solace is more important to me than balancing out the checkbook.

I want to make these last two+ decades of my life as peaceful and joyful as possible.

Live well, my friends. And prosper.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Stopped Listening To The News

  1. Hi Cindi, I agree with you about the news, I only watch the news at noon any more. You and I live in God’s economy anyway. He has always taken care of us.
    I would be interested to know which baby boomer blogs you like to follow. I follow a few, but it seems there are not a lot of them? That is one reason I was sad when you stopped blogging again. I am so glad you are back. đŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

